Dodgers: MLB Pundit Rates Corey Seager High on His All Time ROY List

One MLB pundit took the time during this second offseason to rank the all-time greatest Rookie of the Year Award winners. And apparently, he is a very big fan of what the Dodgers have been doing with young talent for the last seventy years. After all, they do have 18 award winners in their illustrious history.’s Richard Justice voted three Dodgers onto the all-time team, including Corey Seager at shortstop. Among all of the great shortstops to ever win the Rookie of the Year award, Corey Seager was picked as the best. That includes greats such as Luis Aparicio, Cal Ripken Jr, Derek Jeter, and Rafael Furcal to name a few.

Here is Justice’s breakdown of the decision, which was apparently a close one with the Marlins’ Hanley Ramirez. 

Corey Seager’s arrival came with great expectations, and he fulfilled them by running away with the NL ROY award and finishing third in NL MVP voting. Hanley Ramirez made his debut at 21 in two games for the Red Sox at the end of the 2005 season before being traded to the Marlins and becoming an instant star in 2006. He averaged 40 doubles and 25 home runs in his first five full seasons.

Seager’s first season with the Dodgers was certainly one for the record books. He played 157 games and slashed .308/.365/.512 with 26 homeruns and 40 doubles. Seager also finished third in Most Valuable Player voting that season to go along with a Silver Slugger award. 

Since then, Seager has seen some rough days with the Dodgers. Injuries have made it difficult to stay in the lineup, but Los Angeles was hopeful that he would be ready to go at full speed in 2020. We will have to wait to find out as coronavirus continues to wreak havoc on the world. 

Other Dodgers on the List

Seager was not alone on that prestigious list, as two other Dodgers made their way onto the all-time team. Jackie Robinson was selected as the best ROY ever at first base, a position he played primarily in his first year with Brooklyn in 1947. It seems like a fitting selection, given the fact that the award was named after Robinson and he was the very first recipient. Catcher Mike Piazza also made it onto the list with his spectacular 1993 season. Piazza posted a 7 WAR and hit 35 homeruns en route to capturing the award unanimously. 

Dodgers News: Baseball in July with a Potential 100 Game Season, Politics in Play, and More!

Back to top button