Dodgers News: Hyun-Jin Ryu Finishes Second in Cy Young Voting

The day has finally come. We now know who the winner of the NL Cy Young Award is. It is not Hyun-Jin Ryu.

deGrom Wins

Instead of Hyun-Jin Ryu, the winner of the 2019 NL Cy Young was New York Mets right-hander Jacob deGrom. The 31-year-old deGrom also won the award in 2018. He posted an excellent 2.43 ERA while striking out 255 batters over 204 innings.

Ryu Ties Scherzer

In comparison, free agent left-hander Hyun-Jin Ryu pitched to the tune of a 2.32 ERA with 163 strikeouts across 182 2/3 innings of work. In the voting, Ryu tied Washington Nationals right-hander Max Scherzer for second place.

Scherzer was the third member of the group of finalists for this year’s Cy Young and he certainly impressed. The 35-year-old veteran ace posted a 2.92 ERA with 243 strikeouts in 172 1/3 innings pitched.

Buehler and Kershaw Receive Votes

The Dodgers’ starting rotation was not just anchored by the Korean left-hander Ryu. The club received admirable contributions from budding ace Walker Buehler and one of the best pitchers of the generation in Clayton Kershaw.

Clayton Kershaw finished eighth in the voting with a singular third place vote (interesting). Walker Buehler received a singular fourth place vote for his work on the mound this season, placing him ninth overall in voting.

Overall Dominance

Overall, this season was a special one in terms of the pitching talent that was seen out of the National League. In any given season, Ryu could have won. deGrom, Scherzer, and Stephen Strasburg all had cases. Even the second-half push from Jack Flaherty could have been close in some seasons. This year, though, they got the winner correct. Still, hats off to a spectacular season from the Korean Monster, Hyun-Jin Ryu.

Back to top button